My thoughts on PS4 annoucement

PS4 annoucement..yay!

So yesterday Sony launched & released details of the highly-anticipated Playstation 4 (http://uk.playstation.com/meeting2013/ & http://news.sky.com/story/1054832/sony-reveals-next-generation-playstation-4) with the console to be released later in the year, during the holiday period. I could go into every technical aspect of the console, how it has an eight-core powered processor, 8gb ram – which some people laughed at on twitter because that’s what their PC’s can do – and its ability for cross-game chat (ABOUT TIME RIGHT? :D) among others which you can find detailed on various websites if you search google, the brand new DS4 controller which looks pretty groovy in my opinion, but I just want to focus on what I’m looking forward to from the PS4.

–          The Playstation 4? What features do I like?

As I mentioned before, I like the new integration of cross-game chat – this is something many Playstation users have been asking for, and many Xbox people have been mocking the PS3 for, Sony are perhaps a little behind the mark adding this onto the PS4 but nonetheless it’s finally here and I’m happy about it.

The PS4’s other social interaction capabilities; the share button and the fact Sony have a partnership with uStream.tv for you to be able to stream straight from your console. Forget spending all your money on capture cards for your consoles when you get this little feature already built in. I also like how if you’re really stuck on a level you just can’t figure out how to do, you can simply ask one of your friends to hop in and help you. That for me will be a great help, as sometimes I can be sat on a mission where I just can’t really seem to get past it, so to be able to ask someone for a little bit of their time to help would be nice. Though I hope some people don’t take complete advantage of this feature and get their friends to complete the entire game for them – now that would be taking the cake and eating all of it, huh?

8492689771_5888e4d5b6

(image from playstation website)

Another feature I think is pretty nifty is the headphone socket, and the light bar on the back of the DS4 controller that can be tracked by a camera for player detection. The analog sticks look comfortable to use too, I hope they’re slightly cushioned – especially as the DS3 analogs at times for me, were uncomfortable after long periods of use. The L2/R2 buttons are pretty cool too, finally they look easier to use and hold the controller itself.

 

–           What’s a feature I didn’t like?

WE CAN’T PLAY OUR PS3 GAMES ON THE PS4?! WHATTTTTTTT?!!!

Okay this is pretty disappointing to me. The fact the PS4 won’t be able to have PS3 titles nor PSN ones on their next-generation console. It actually really sucks they won’t, but Sony have said PS3 titles will be available in the future on PS4 for streaming or download – I suppose that’s a plus. But nonetheless I’m still pretty saddened by that, especially as I wanted to play all my old games on there..  😛

 

–          Games I’m looking forward to?

Driveclub


This game looks pretty cool. I love racing games, I’ve played so many over the years – many of my favourites being GT5 and F1 games so to hear game developers Evolution Studios (who developed MotorStorm) have a racing game ready for the PS4 excites me! Particularly when its team-based multiplayer and you can set up races via a mobile phone etc. And features real licensed cars!

Killzone: Shadow Fall

Set thirty years after the events of the Killzone trilogy, the world of Killzone Shadow Fall is a very different place. Forced together by circumstance, the two rival factions of the Helghast and the Vektans live side by side in a futuristic city, divided by a vast wall.

Tensions are high, and a war can spark at any moment. In the midst of this all stands a Shadow Marshall, the most special of the special forces, tasked with maintaining the delicate balance.

 

Another addition to the Killzone series – which I’m a big fan of. It looks really good, and interesting to see how they’ve got the factions of Helghast & Vektans in one big city with nothing but a wall between them! Makes things a whole lot more interesting when they’re in one place.

Watch Dogs

Ubisoft’s open world adventure game looks more and more thrilling to play on the PS4 than it did when they showed it at last year’s E3. It reminds me a mixture of GTA (no surprise there) and it’s almost name sake Sleeping Dogs, but of course more technical and futuristic – and a hell of lot of stuff to play around with. I love how you can pretty much control the city to obtain any kind of information you need or just because you want to play with it at the tip of your fingers. The small feature of being able to steal people’s money via getting into their account information seems pretty cool! Haven’t you always been wanting to use an ATM like that in a game before? And the graphic capability for this game look insane! 😉

 

You guys probably expected the new Final Fantasy game to be in here – unfortunately I’m not the hugest fan of the series hence why it’s been left out. Let me know what you’re looking forward to from the PS4 (games, its features etc) and what you don’t like about it? Remember these are just my thoughts – I’m no expert at this kind of stuff so please let me know what you like about the post.

– Lily 😀

6 thoughts on “My thoughts on PS4 annoucement

  1. Very nice article lily haha. I am looking forward to Watch Dogs, Deep Down, Agni’s Philosophy (The demo that Square Enix showed with the magic combined with modern weapons & trucks. weird) and InFamous: Second Son myself. I like the controller but not a fan of the share button yet. It might be more useful than we think.
    I am a HUGE fan of Final Fantasy but only of 7 up to 13. Not played 13-2 and not a fan of 11 or 14 which are both MMOs. Tried both on launch but they didn’t appeal to me so i canceled subscriptions to them.

    See you around on twitch smartarse 😀

  2. Reblogged this on Fun News and commented:
    Ps4!!! Can’t wait for it to come out and see all the new things playstation has in store. My only thoughts “are why make another system so soon.” The ps3 has not been out that long. They need to make a lot more games and not just some ones that you can beat a in one day.

    • The PS3 was released in 2006, it’s pretty much the right time to release a new generation of consoles, they need something to compete with Microsoft for when the new generation of Xbox consoles come out so I can see why they’ve done it. Its them getting a head-start on Microsoft before E3 in June. 🙂

      • Yes, you are right. But will playstation be able out compete xbox at E3. I guess I’ll have to wait until June to find out

Leave a Reply

